Shortcut Navigation:


BCTGM Elects New Leaders

BCTGM President David B. Durkee (right) and BCTGM Secretary-Treasurer Steve Bertelli. BCTGM photo.

David B. Durkee, who served as secretary-treasurer for the Bakery, Confectionery, Tobacco Workers and Grain Millers (BCTGM) since 1998, is the union’s new president after the BCTGM’s General Executive Board approved his nomination. He succeeds Frank Hurt, who retired Jan. 1 after 20 years in office.

Durkee began his career in 1973 as a baker at Lewis Brothers Bakery in Evansville. He has held various local, regional and national offices, including BCTGM director of organizing. He holds a master's degree from Indiana State University and is a graduate of the Harvard Trade Union Program. 

The board also approved Steve Bertelli as secretary-treasurer. He previously served as BCTGM vice president. He began his union career in 1986 as a shift leader at Mel-O-Cream International in Decatur, Ill., and also served in several local regional and national offices. 

The email address provided does not appear to be valid. Please check the address entered and try again.
Thank you for signing up to receive our blog alerts. You will receive your first email shortly.

Related Stories

Take Action

Protect the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau has done crucial work to safeguard Americans against the deceptive and abusive practices of big banks, student loan servicers, credit card companies and predatory lenders. Tell Congress to protect this important agency.

Sign the petition. »

Connect With Us

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Flickr

Get Email from AFL-CIO

Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to 235246 to stop receiving messages. Text HELP to 235246 for more information.


Join Us Online