Shortcut Navigation:


July 31 Is Deadline for 2012 Edna Award Nominations

Less than a week remains before the deadline—July 31—to submit nominations for the 2012 Edna, a $10,000 award for young women making a mark in labor, women’s and other social justice movements.

The award honors Edna Berger, a pioneer for women’s rights who rose from a receptionist at The Philadelphia Inquirer to become a writer, editor and the first female organizer in The Newspaper Guild-CWA.

The Berger-Marks Foundation established the Edna Award in 2011 to recognize “a woman who has made an extraordinary contribution to social justice early in her career. The recipient’s outstanding achievements to date indicate that her ongoing work will significantly improve the lives of working women and men.”

Nominations for the 2012 Edna will be accepted online only. In addition to the nominator, each nominee must have one additional letter of recommendation. Nominees may not nominate themselves. Nominees must be 35 years or younger on Dec. 31, 2012. The online nomination form is available on the foundation’s website at

An independent panel of union, civic and activist leaders will judge the nominees and make the final selections.

The email address provided does not appear to be valid. Please check the address entered and try again.
Thank you for signing up to receive our blog alerts. You will receive your first email shortly.

Related Stories

Take Action

Protect the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau has done crucial work to safeguard Americans against the deceptive and abusive practices of big banks, student loan servicers, credit card companies and predatory lenders. Tell Congress to protect this important agency.

Sign the petition. »

Connect With Us

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Flickr

Get Email from AFL-CIO

Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to 235246 to stop receiving messages. Text HELP to 235246 for more information.


Join Us Online