Shortcut Navigation:

2013 Dreams of Jobs and Freedom Scholarship

To commemorate the 50th anniversary of the March on Washington where Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., delivered his “I Have a Dream” speech, the AFL-CIO and Union Plus are offering scholarships to help graduating high school seniors realize their dreams of a college education.

The one-time $5,000 scholarships are for study for the academic year beginning in the fall 2013 through summer 2014. Sixty scholarships were awarded. The recipients are:

Mona Abutouk, Elizabeth Aryee, Brianna Bal, Melissa Behling, Alejandro Banuelos, James Benedek, Carrie Berkstresser, Conner Calabro, Nicole Castillo, Kenya Colbert, Khera Colbert, Madelyn Cole, Cindy Cruz, Moses Dany, Jarray Davis, Corinne Demler, Michael Donahue, Marcus Erdman, Yoseline Escalante-Buendia, Ivie Eweka, Isiah Foster, Kayla Gaskin, Grace Hansen, Dailen Harris, Tyler Holman, Norbert Klusmann, Jr., Bryan Linn, Nia Lewis, Riley Magsino, Victoria Manzo, Lauren Markovich, Imani McLaurin, Javier Mery, Elise Montes, Jessica Norwood, Camille Nostrates, Brandon Olson, Justin Orr, Austin Pond, Molly Prep, Cinthya Ramirez, Jessica Rice, Kirsten Scherrer, Cullen Shay, Whitney Shepherd, Deric Shindledecker, Julian Sit, Olivia Solomon, Kaitlyn Steigerwald, Blake Stoner, Amin Tmimi, Yacin Tmimi, Victoria Vail, Jonathan Vega, Christian White, Paige Williams, Makeda Yohannes, Seung Yoo, Gareth Young, Anna Zeerip

Eligibility and Evalution Criteria

Take Action

Tell Congress to Oppose Trump's Nominee for Labor Secretary

Donald Trump’s nominee for secretary of labor—fast food CEO Andrew Puzder—would be a disaster for working Americans. Tell your members of Congress to oppose him.

Sign the Petition »

Join Us Online